Here’s the lowdown on when Eurovision starts tonight

Here’s the lowdown on when Eurovision starts tonight

Eurovision: Ulrika Jonsson and Terry Wogan present contest in 1998

The Eurovision Song Contest reaches a head with the UK hosting on behalf of 2022’s winners Ukraine.

Due to the ongoing war with Russia, which enters its 444th day, Ukraine was unable to host the competition with Britain stepping in.

The contest takes place in the Liverpool Arena with Graham Norton, Alesha Dixon, Hannah Waddingham and Julia Sanina on hosting duties for the 67th Eurovision Song Contest.

What time does Eurovision start?

The Eurovision Song Contest grand final airs this evening (May 13) on BBC One at 8pm.

The programme will be running between 8pm and is scheduled to run for four hours, wrapping up at midnight.

Along with airing on BBC One, you can catch the show live on BBC iPlayer but be warned, there will be no breaks in the contest apart from after all the acts have performed and the votes are being collected from various countries.

For those in the Central European Time, this will be 9pm CEST.

While American Eurovision fans can catch the show from 3pm Eastern Standard Time or 12pm Pacific Standard Time if you’re on the other side of America.

If you’re watching Eurovision from Down Under in Australia, this will be 5am on Sunday, May 14.

Don’t miss…
King Charles has ‘regrets’ over Prince Harry’s Coronation invite [INSIGHT]
Camilla ‘confronted over title’ at ‘highly charged’ Coronation dinner [UPDATE]
Emmerdale’s Charity forced to address ‘unfinished business’ with Mack [LATEST]

There will be 26 countries competing in the final after the two semi-finals whittled down the contestants.

The Big Five gain automatic entry to the final due to the financial contribution they may to the contest, so this is the UK, France, Germany, Spain and Italy.

Additionally, the reigning champions also make it through to the final automatically, so Ukraine will be performing again.

Among the qualifying countries in the final are Austria, Portugal, Switzerland, Poland, Serbia and Cyprus.

Further competing nations are Sweden, Albania, Estonia, Finland, Czechia, Australia, Belgium, Armenia, Moldova and Norway.

Mae Muller is the UK’s entry for Eurovision with her track I Wrote A Song but sadly her chances of winning the competition have been ruled out by the bookmakers.

She has an outside chance of winning with odds of 50/1 from Skybet and 125/1 from Unibet.

Instead, it’s Sweden’s Loreen and her track Tattoo which is being tipped for victory with odds of 1/2 from SkyBet, Coral and William Hill, among others.

The Eurovision Song Contest starts on BBC One at 8pm

Source: Read Full Article