Paul Pogba only Man Utd star to make Uefa’s 50-man Team of the Year Shortlist despite rift with Jose Mourinho

Paul Pogba only Man Utd star to make Uefa’s 50-man Team of the Year Shortlist despite rift with Jose Mourinho

It means Marseille, Roma and Tottenham all have more nominees than the Old Trafford club.

Pogba of course was instrumental in France's successful World Cup this summer and understandably made the initial cut for the annual team despite his questionable form for the Red Devils since.

Team-mates Anthony Martial, Romelu Lukaku and especially David De Gea will be among the big-name United stars disappointed to be overlooked.

Premier League rivals Chelsea and Tottenham both received two nominations with N'Golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane and Hugo Lloris all in.

Arsenal, meanwhile, had none.

But it is unsurprisingly better news for Liverpool and Manchester City.

City blew the Premier League away last season and stars John Stones, Kevin De Bruyne and David Silva included.

Meanwhile Champions League finalists Liverpool have six names including midfielder James Milner and the deadly front three of Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah and Roberto Firmino.

Unsurprisingly, there is no room for Dejan Lovren, though, who is sure to be disappointed – especially considering his nemesis Sergio Ramos is one of nine Real Madrid stars to make the shortlist.

Los Blancos won a third-consecutive Champions League in May and ten members of the team are in, including now-Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo and match-winner Gareth Bale.

Other standout names in the 50-man list are Lionel Messi, Antoine Griezmann, Neymar and Kylian Mbappe while a few eyebrows may be raised by Marseille pair Dimitri Payet and Florian Thauvin's inclusions.

Of the 50, 17 players are on the list for the first time. Voting on Uefa's website opened yesterday and closes on January 11.

Uefa's 50-man Team of the Year Shortlist


ALISSON (Liverpool/Brazil), HUGO LLORIS (Tottenham/France), KEYLOR NAVAS (Real Madrid/Costa Rica), JAN OBLAK (Atletico Madrid/Slovenia), MARC-ANDRE TER STEGEN (Barcelona/Germany)


VIRGIL VAN DIJK (Liverpool/Netherlands), RAPHAEL VARANE (Real Madrid/France), SERGIO RAMOS (Real Madrid/Spain), MARCELO (Real Madrid/Brazil), DIEGO GODIN (Atletico Madrid/Uruguay), GIORGIO CHIELLINI (Juventus/Italy), SAMUEL UMTITI (Barcelona/France), JORDI ALBA (Barcelona/Spain), KALIDOU KOULIBALY (Napoli/Senegal), KOSTAS MANOLAS (Roma/Greece), LUCAS HERNANDEZ (Atletico Madrid/France), JOSE MARIA GIMENEZ (Atletico Madrid/Uruguay), GERARD PIQUE (Barcelona/Spain), JOSHUA KIMMICH (Bayern Munich/Germany), JOHN STONES (Manchester City/England)


LUKA MODRIC (Real Madrid/Croatia), N’GOLO KANTE (Chelsea/France), KEVIN DE BRUYNE (Manchester City/Belgium), JAMES MILNER (Liverpool/England), CASEMIRO (Real Madrid/Brazil), ISCO (Real Madrid/Spain), TONI KROOS (Real Madrid/Germany), PAUL POGBA (Manchester United/France), IVAN RAKITIC (Barcelona/Croatia), DAVID SILVA (Manchester City/Spain), MIRALEM PJANIC (Juventus/Bosnia), SAUL NIGUEZ (Atletico Madrid/Spain), EDEN HAZARD (Chelsea/Belgium), DIMITRI PAYET (Marseille/France), FLORIAN THAUVIN (Marseille/France)


LIONEL MESSI (Barcelona/Argentina), CRISTIANO RONALDO (Juventus/Portugal), SADIO MANE (Liverpool/Senegal), KYLIAN MBAPPE (Paris Saint-Germain/France), NEYMAR (Paris Saint-Germain/Brazil), ANTOINE GRIEZMANN (Atletico Madrid/France), HARRY KANE (Tottenham/England), MOHAMED SALAH (Liverpool/Egypt), ROBERTO FIRMINO (Liverpool/Brazil), EDIN DZEKO (Roma/Bosnia), ROBERT LEWANDOWSKI (Bayern Munich/Poland), PAULO DYBALA (Juventus/Argentina), LUIS SUAREZ (Barcelona/Uruguay), EDINSON CAVANI (Paris Saint-Germain/Uruguay), GARETH BALE (Real Madrid/Wales)

Source: Read Full Article