Grand National 2021: Confirmed runners and riders for Saturday’s race

Grand National 2021: Confirmed runners and riders for Saturday’s race

Bristol De Mai heads a maximum field of 40 in the Grand National – but the strongly-fancied Secret Reprieve is only a second reserve at this stage.

Trained by Evan Williams, Secret Reprieve won the Welsh National in December and has been kept fresh in the hope of a crack at the world’s greatest steeplechase on Saturday.

However, it has been touch and go whether he would make the cut or not – and as only The Storyteller was not declared at the 48-hour stage, Secret Reprieve’s connections are still sweating.

Should there be any non-runners before 1pm on Friday, the reserve system will come into play.

Dan Skelton’s Blaklion was the beneficiary of of The Storyteller’s no-show and creeps in as number 40. The first reserve is John McConnell’s Some Neck, with Kauto Riko third reserve and Fagan the fourth and final one.

Read more:

  • Who is going to win The Masters? Betting tips and tournament picks
  • Bayern and PSG prove why Champions League format should never change
  • Manchester United enter final straight hoping not to crawl over the line

Ante-post favourite Cloth Cap will aim to give Trever Hemmings a record fourth win in the race following the successes of Hedgehunter, Ballabriggs and Many Clouds – and his trainer Jonjo O’Neill is chasing his second National, having won with Don’t Push It.

After their domination at Cheltenham, the Irish battalion bring a strong team in which Ted Walsh’s Any Second Now is well touted.

Rachael Blackmore enjoyed a dream Festival and aims to top an incredible year on Henry de Bromhead’s Minella Times. The Gold Cup-winning stable is also responsible for Chris’s Dream and Balko Des Flos.

Independent Rugby Newsletter

Live Rugby union coverage direct to your inbox every week

Read our privacy notice

Independent Rugby Newsletter

Live Rugby union coverage direct to your inbox every week

Read our privacy notice

Willie Mullins is without the services of Paul Townend, who suffered an injury at Fairyhouse earlier this week. He is replaced on Burrows Saint by Patrick Mullins.

Danny Mullins rides Acapella Bourgeois, and Brian Hayes is on Class Conti – with Sean O’Keeffe on Cabaret Queen.

Denis O’Regan comes in for the ride on Tony Martin’s Anibale Fly, who has run well in the race twice before and has also twice been placed in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Leading amateur Jamie Codd rides Milan Native, with Sean Flanagan on Tout Est Permis.

Full list of runners

1 Bristol de Mai (FR) 10 11-10 167 Mr Simon Munir & Mr Isaac Souede Nigel Twiston-Davies Daryl Jacob

2 Chris’s Dream (IRE) 9 11-7 164 Robcour Henry de Bromhead IRE Darragh O’Keeffe

3 Yala Enki (FR) 11 11-3 160 Hills of Ledbury Ltd Paul Nicholls Bryony Frost

4 Ballyoptic (IRE) 11 11-1 158 Mills & Mason Partnership Nigel Twiston-Davies Sam Twiston-Davies

5 Definitly Red (IRE) 12 11-1 158 Phil & Julie Martin Brian Ellison Henry Brooke

6 Lake View Lad (IRE) 11 11-0 157 Mr Trevor Hemmings Nick Alexander Brian Hughes

7 Burrows Saint (FR) 8 10-13 156 Mrs S. Ricci Willie Mullins IRE Paul Townend

8 Magic of Light (IRE) 10 10-13 156 Ann & Alan Potts Limited Mrs Jessica Harrington IRE Robbie Power

9 Acapella Bourgeois (FR) 11 10-12 155 Slaneyville Syndicate Willie Mullins IRE Danny Mullins

10 Talkischeap (IRE) 9 10-12 155 Mr Charles Dingwall Alan King Tom Cannon

11 Tout Est Permis (FR) 8 10-12 155 Gigginstown House Stud Noel Meade Sean Flanagan

12 Anibale Fly (FR) 11 10-12 155 Mr John P McManus Tony Martin IRE Denis O’Regan

13 Mister Malarky (GB) 8 10-12 155 Wendy & Malcolm Hezel Colin Tizzard Jonjo O’Neill Jnr

14 Kimberlite Candy (IRE) 9 10-10 153 Mr John P McManus Tom Lacey Richie McLernon

15 Any Second Now (IRE) 9 10-9 152 Mr John P McManus Ted Walsh IRE Mark Walsh

16 Balko des Flos (FR) 10 10-9 152 Gigginstown House Stud Henry de Bromhead IRE Aidan Coleman

17 Alpha des Obeaux (FR) 11 10-9 152 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster IRE Jody McGarvey

18 Ok Corral (IRE) 11 10-8 151 Mr John P McManus Nicky Henderson Derek O’Connor

19 Takingrisks (IRE) 12 10-7 150 Mr Frank Bird Nicky Richards Sean Quinlan

20 Shattered Love (IRE) 10 10-7 150 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster IRE Kevin Sexton

21 Jett (IRE) 10 10-7 150 Mr Robert Waley-Cohen Mrs Jessica Harrington IRE Sam Waley-Cohen

22 Lord du Mesnil (FR) 8 10-6 149 Mr Paul Porter & Mike & Mandy Smith Richard Hobson Nick Scholfield

23 Potters Corner (IRE) 11 10-6 149 All Stars Sports Racing & J Davies Christian Williams Jack Tudor

24 Class Conti (FR) 9 10-6 149 Mr Simon Munir/Mr Isaac Souede Willie Mullins IRE Brian Hayes

25 Milan Native (IRE) 8 10-6 149 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster IRE Jamie Codd

26 Discorama (FR) 8 10-6 149 Thomas Friel/Andrew Gemmell Paul Nolan IRE Bryan Cooper

27 Vieux Lion Rouge (FR) 12 10-5 148 Prof Caroline Tisdall & Mr John Gent David Pipe Conor O’Farrell

28 Cloth Cap (IRE) 9 10-5 148 Mr Trevor Hemmings Jonjo O’Neill Tom Scudamore

29 Cabaret Queen (GB) 9 10-5 148 Syndicates.Racing Willie Mullins IRE Sean O’Keeffe

30 Minellacelebration (IRE) 11 10-5 148 Mr Nick Elliott Katy Price Ben Poste

31 Canelo (IRE) 8 10-4 147 Mr John P McManus Alan King Tom Bellamy

32 The Long Mile (GB) 7 10-4 147 Mr John P McManus JP Dempsey IRE Luke Dempsey

33 Give Me A Copper (IRE) 11 10-4 147 Done, Ferguson, Mason, Nicholls & Wood Paul Nicholls Harry Cobden

34 Farclas (FR) 7 10-3 146 Gigginstown House Stud Mrs Denise Foster IRE Jack Kennedy

35 Minella Times (IRE) 8 10-3 146 Mr John P McManus Henry de Bromhead IRE Rachael Blackmore

36 Sub Lieutenant (IRE) 12 10-3 Ms G Howell Georgie Howell Tabitha Worsley

37 Hogan’s Height (IRE) 10 10-3 146 Foxtrot Racing: Hogan’s Height Jamie Snowden Gavin Sheehan

38 Double Shuffle (IRE) 11 10-2 145 Crossed Fingers Partnership Tom George Jonathan Burke

39 Ami Desbois (FR) 11 10-2 145 The Reserved Judgment Partnership Graeme McPherson Kielan Woods

40 Blaklion (GB) 12 10-2 145 Darren & Annaley Yates Dan Skelton Harry Skelton

RES 1: Some Neck (FR) 10 10-1 144 Some Neck Partnership John McConnell IRE Simon Torrens


Source: Read Full Article