CRICKET World Cup final umpire Kumar Dharmasena has admitted he should not have handed an extra run to England as they clinched an incredibly dramatic victory.
Ben Stokes deflected the ball out to the boundary after running for two, meaning the home side were given SIX runs in a dramatic final over.
Rule 19.8 suggests that England should have been given just five runs though, because Stokes and batting partner Adil Rashid had not crossed running between the stumps when the ball was thrown.
The incident helped the home side go on to tie the scores at 241 at Lord's before a stalemate in a hugely dramatic final over.
As the dust settled and the champagne went flat, it emerged that England should definitely not have been given their sixth run during the overthrow confusion and might never have gone on to win.
And Stokes even asked the umpires NOT to award the six runs.
Sri Lankan umpire Dharmasena, 48, was the final umpire along with hugely-respected official Marais Erasmus.
He said: "It's easy for people to comment after seeing TV replays.
"I agree that there was a judgemental error when I see it on TV replays now.
"But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground, and I will never regret the decision I made.
"I did consult the leg umpire through the communication system which is heard by the other umpires and the match referee.
"While they cannot check TV replays, they all confirmed that the batsmen have completed the second run.
"This is when I made my decision.
"Besides, the ICC praised me for the decision I made at the time."
That may not sit well with New Zealand fans who were stunned at losing the match they seemed to edge for most of the day.
Crestfallen Black Caps captain Kane Williamson was magnificently sporting on the day — refusing to blame any officials for his side's agonising defeat.
He said: "It just wasn't meant to be. Both sides showed a lot of heart.
"To go down to the last ball, it's tough. It's devastating."
Source: Read Full Article